Quinoa

31 Mar

It is the best!  I am a huge fan.  Some people don’t like it because of the texture but  it is a texture worth getting used to.  Here’s why:

  • It’s healthy! Quinoa is packed with protein, fiber, thiamin, vitamin B6, folate, zinc, potassium, magnesium, selenium, and iron.  The best part is that it contains all the essential amino acids that your body needs and is gluten-free.  Perfect. (When I make a meal with no meat, the only way to get my husband to eat it is to explain that quinoa is full of protein.  And it works :) )
  • It is so easy to cook.  You really can’t ruin it.  It is a 1:2 ratio of quinoa to liquid.  I usually use water and throw some salt in there.  You can also use any broth to add some flavor to it.  Although quinoa is a seed, it cooks up like a grain and absorbs all the liquid.

  • The variety of options is endless.  I buy the big bag at Costco so I always have some on hand.  I use it as a rice and pasta replacement (but I still use those things too).  It can be used as a side, to make cold  salads, or added to some hot soup.  My husband loves it with a can of cream of chicken soup, green beans, broccoli (you can add any vegetables you like), and some shredded chicken.  It is also frequently used with stir fries at our house.  There really are so many options.  And they are all so good.  Another idea is cooking it in milk with cinnamon and honey or brown sugar for a supposedly amazing hot breakfast cereal (I have yet to try this, but am so excited about it).   For recipes and ideas using quinoa, check out these sites: Healthy Eats, Cooking Quinoa, and AllRecipes.com.
8 Responses to “Quinoa”

  1. allysong21 April 1, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    This is so great! I am going to get some and try it now.

  2. Joe April 2, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Wow, looks like a way good recipe! I will definitely have to try this one.

  3. lareelapierre April 3, 2011 at 5:24 am #

    I love quinoa! I’m glad you posted about this! I didn’t know how many health benefits there are to eating it! I’ll have to try out the recipe!

  4. brittae April 3, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    Looks great! I will definitely have to make this!

  5. jenessa April 4, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    i’ve had this before and i really liked it! i’m going to have to try and make it myself now!

  6. reganmclain April 8, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    i love this stuff! and that meal with avocados looks especially delicious!! your blog is so cute :)

  7. Jolie April 12, 2011 at 5:25 am #

    I am impressed with this internet site , real I am a fan .

  8. wholefoodlife April 19, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    I love quinoa. It’s healthy, easy, and delicious! I have a post on it on my blog also. You’ll have to check it out. Wholefoodlife.wordpress.com :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

